Chad's Fantasy NASCAR Blog

This Blog compliments Chad's Fantasy NASCAR, recommending drivers for your fantasy team.

  • Top Posts (2 Days)

  • All Time Top Posts

  • Archives

2010 NASCAR Predictions

Posted by chadmusselman on February 7, 2010

PredictionWe’re a week away from the start of the NASCAR season, and every team thinks they have a chance to win the Sprint Cup championship. Daytona, NASCAR’s “Superbowl”, is the first step in achieving the goal but winning the 500 doesn’t guarantee a spot in the Chase. Just ask Matt Kenseth and Ryan Newman about that.

Here are some of my predictions for the season. We’ll see how well I do in nine months time.

Champion: Jimmie Johnson
How can you go against Jimmie right now? I didn’t think that Jimmie would win 3 championships in a row, and last year I didn’t think he’d win 4 in a row. I’m not going to doubt Jimmie again. I have to see someone dethrone him before I pick someone else to win the Championship.

Most Disappointing: Greg Biffle
I don’t think Greg will have an awful year, but of the drivers that made the chase last year he has a lot of expectations to do better. I feel that he’s one of the weaker drivers that did make the chase, and there are better drivers that will make it this year, possibly bumping him out of the chase.

Most Surprising: David Ragan
2007 was David’s first full season in Sprint Cup and he finished 23rd in points. 2008 was a strong sophomore season and he finished 13th. He regressed in 2009 finishing 27th with only 2 top tens. I don’t think David will make the chase, but he should finish in the top 15 this season. With the resources of Roush Fenway Racing behind him there’s no reason David can’t have a bounce back season. If he doesn’t, I wouldn’t be surprised if he gets let go.

Rookie Of The Year: Terry Cook
To be honest I think there’s only one other guy officially entered for Rookie Of The Year considerations (Kevin Conway). I’m not too familiar with either driver. The only reason I’m picking Terry Cook is he’ll be at Daytona and Kevin won’t. If he can make the race it’ll be an advantage for Terry.

Comeback Driver: Kevin Harvick
Kevin had a poor 2009, finishing 19th in points with only 9 top ten finishes. This was his worst showing since 2002 when he finished 21st with 8 top tens. He came back to finish 5th in 2003, and I expect him to do something similar for 2010. He hasn’t won a race since the Daytona 500 in 2007. I expect him to break the winless streak, get a couple wins, and make the chase.

Most Wins: Jimmie Johnson
He’s the champ, and he led the series with 7 wins last season. Like I said earlier, until someone can prove they’re better than Jimmie, I’m going to pick him.

Have predictions of your own? Leave a comment and let everyone know.

One Response to “2010 NASCAR Predictions”

  1. Jason said

    So far your champ and comeback driver look good.

Leave a Reply

 
